(a.) NEW Ventura Rent Control Ordinance talks and discussion
HERE'S WHAT'S BREWING RIGHT NOW WITH YOUR CALIFORNIA LEGISLATORS
- as of Nov 2023.
- Gov Gavin Newsom just signed into law: AB 12 in effect July 1, 2024. A Landlord can only ask for / take / receive a security deposit of 1months rent and no more. For all of those Renters with a bit lower credit score or lack of references that Landlords might be willing to take a chance are gone. Extra pet deposit? Can't ask for extra deposit. For those Landlords already holding 1+months rent security deposit prior to July 1, 2024 may still hold 1+months rent.
Now, Landlords of Port Hueneme - Your City Leaders are now discussing Port Hueneme Rent Control. Call your elected city officials and tell them you are against new Rent Control ordinances since they are proving to actually raise rents in Oxnard and Ojai and any 'Feel-good' ordinances are backfiring. Solution to housing: create more rental units, make life a bit easier to get permits to build.
For live updates on SB-567 and what the Assembly is doing visit: https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB567
Important City of Oxnard Rental Accommodations Update:
The California Tenant Protection Act (AB 1482) was enacted in 2019 by Governor Gavin Newsom to cap statewide rent increases over the next 10 years. The bill went into effect on January 1, 2020 and currently prevents California landlords from increasing rent more than 5%. The Oxnard City Council recently adopted two ordinances within the scope of AB 1482 effective on June 4, 2022. Oxnard rent control enacts an annual rent “cap” of 4% and also establishes just cause & non-just cause eviction protocol and required relocation fees. If an Oxnard landlord wants a tenant out of their unit, they [landlord] must pay the tenant $5,000 or two months worth of rent (whichever amount is greater) as a relocation fee. This ordinance does more harm than good to Oxnard landlords as the ordinance affects property sales. If a landlord wants to move themselves or family back into their home, the tenant has the authority to deny this request. Furthermore, if a potential buyer is interested in the home and the landlord has the intention of selling it, the current tenant has the first right of refusal. The eviction provisions under AB 1482 provide that a tenancy may only be terminated in the event of “just cause”, also mandating said “just cause” reasons to be stated in the notice of termination. Just cause reasons are pursuant to any reasoning that is “at-fault” or “no-fault”. The relocation fee is required in the instance of a “no-fault” eviction. This entire rent control ordinance applies to units that are Single Family, Condos, Multi-Family units with some exemptions. Exemptions to the ordinance include but are not limited to, single-family owner occupied residences, and residences where the owner and tenant share facilities, and residences where the duplex owner occupies one of the units and did so prior to tenancy. Some SFR and Condos are also exempt if those units meet a certain criteria.The stipulations within the ordinance have already been implemented into Oxnard real estate and can be better understood with our help. The above ordinance summarization(s) are subject to change as the city advances efforts to alter city real estate regulations. Contact Michael at (805) 985-5555 for further questions about general information or exemption qualification and he will provide you with efficient consultation.